Styling Tips

Workin’ Overalls w/ Work It, Berk

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Hello! It’s been a long time, I know I know! I hope you are all enjoying your summer vacations so far! As for me, I’ve got a lot on my plate but I’m loving every bit of it! A few weeks ago, Brittany from Work It, Berk reached out to me and asked me to be featured on her amazing blog! Brittany’s awesome blog highlights amazing places to eat, visit, and most of all, street style. You can all take a look at my Q&A with Brittany and also look at the rest of her blog! Thank you again for asking me to collaborate with you, Brittany!

18144562178_34b8c6e3f7_o (1)

leather jacket – H&M

leather backpack – Forever 21

black denim overalls – H&M

stripped off-the-shoulder crop top – Zara

suede booties – Target ($9.99)

Ladies, it’s true – overalls are making a comeback! At first I was a little hesitant about this style. I was worried I might look like I was in the 5th grade or working on a farm. But believe it or not, there are surprisingly chic ways to bring back this 90’s look.

18146173619_484ee0c008_o

Many of you are probably asking, so how do you wear overalls and still look like a grown up? Well I’ve got 3 tips that I hope encourage you to try on a pair the next time you’re at the store!

1) Find the right fit. I found these at H&M a few weeks back and they fit perfectly! If you have a longer or shorter torso, make sure you find a pair with adjustable straps so there’s no gapping or pulling in the crotch area. If you wear a more slim-fitting pair or opt for a looser denim look, always cuff the hem.

2) Avoid flannel. The last thing you want to do is look like you’re about to chop down a forest. Stripes, chic blouses, button-downs, or other patterns, however, are perfect!

3) Layers. Don’t just think about what goes under your overalls, think about what can go over them too! Don’t be afraid to throw on a cute leather jacket or a cardigan over – especially if you live in colder areas during the summer!

18332377295_54b06bfe42_o

For more pictures and my Q&A with Brittany, check out her blog Work It, Berk! Thanks again, Brittany!

Leave a Reply

